American Red Cross Spokesperson of the Year Award

ARC 001For the past two years I have worked very closely with the various chapters of the American Red Cross, both local and national, and to receive this prestigious award this week is just beyond words.  It has been a true honor for me to volunteer, take part in their testimonial speaking engagements, and to proudly wear their logo on my race suits during my triathlon and running events because the American Red Cross was a huge factor in my recovery (60% bloodloss) and journey back into life.

Blood is needed for emergencies and for people who have cancer, blood disorders, sickle cell, anemia and other illnesses. Some people need regular blood transfusions to live. For nearly 5 million people who receive blood transfusions every year, your donation can make the difference between life and death and I am living proof of this. In my time of great need, they were there with 36 blood transfusions and 13 plasma treatments that saved my life in a situation where time was of the essence.

